Uncategorized

The Wedding

June 18, 2016. Our wedding day.

One of the best days of my life.

But, doesn’t everyone who’s gotten married say that? Well, it’s true.

I woke that day excited and jittery. It was our wedding day after all! Yet, aside from the butterflies, I had an overwhelming sense of calmness. In just a few hours, I would be marrying my best friend. We would be standing before God, friends, and family and vow to love each other forever.

A few of my bridesmaids and I went to Panera for breakfast, then headed to the venue (Cypress Point Country Club) to begin setting up. The country club is the CUTEST little venue in Virginia Beach. It perfectly fit our 50 guests. Surrounded by acres of putting green and a few lakes, it was the most amazing venue I could have imagined for our wedding. They have the sweetest staff, too! My bridal party and I spent a few hours pulling together the centerpieces and aisle decorations. The makeup artist, Sarah, arrived soon after to begin prepping me for the day. My makeup turned out great; I looked like ME, but totally glamed up. My bridesmaids let me sit back and enjoy some quiet time while they finished decorating. The cake and flowers soon arrived, followed by the DJ and pastor. The final details were being pulled together and I couldn’t be more excited to walk down the aisle.

Finally, I slipped into my white tulle gown and the moments that followed flowed and flitted around me like a haze. My mom placed my “something new” around my neck, a simple white gold choker adorned by her white gold cross pendant (my “something borrowed”). I pinned flowers to her and my dad’s outfits, then my sister joined us to pray. It was such a sweet moment. My dad took my arm and we prepared to approach the aisle. I hid behind a wall to make sure Stephen couldn’t see me. I caught a glimpse of my groom and I smiled to myself knowing I would be married to him soon. The bridal party began their procession down the aisle. Then, my dad and I approached the double doors that led to the alter. I took a deeeeeeep breathe, closed my eyes, and soaked the moment in. I WAS GETTING MARRIED!!!! I opened my eyes, nodded to my dad and we walked. Stephen looked so handsome in his suit. The walk to him seemed so long. But soon, we were arm in arm, facing the pastor, ready to become man and wife.

During the vows, I got choked up knowing what I was saying was more than just words. I was committing myself wholeheartedly to my best friend and vowing to stand with him for the rest of my life.  I had to stop and regain my composure, attempting to avoid my Kim Kardashian-level cry face. Stephen reached up and wiped away my tears and we resumed the vows.

Finally, we kissed as the pastor announced the moment we had been waiting for: we were husband and wife! We grinned and walked back up the aisle together, forever.

We took photos with the family and Stephen got to drive a golf cart to the lake (which was one of the day’s highlights). Our photographer was great! He helped us get some great photos of the wedding. Once pictures were over, we headed back to the reception area to get the party started!

 

 

Our DJ never stopped jamming out, which helped for a non-stop dance party. Our families gave great toasts and dinner was delicious. I was excited to eat cake, even though it was the prettiest cake I’ve ever seen. Stephen and I danced the night away. I was a little sad as the night ended. Here it was, one of the greatest  days of my life, and it was almost over! But, the reminder of a long life together with Stephen was the best feeling of all. As we made our grand exit, our friends and family tossed rose petals at us and serenaded us with K-Ci & Jojo’s All My Life. Talk about a moment to remember!

 

 

Stephen and I honeymooned on a cruise to the Bahamas. We had such a fun time and it was a great way to wrap up a year plus of wedding planning and it was a great start to our life together.

We want to take a moment to thank EVERYONE who helped make our day special. From our parents, siblings, bridal party and friends to vendors, our wedding day wouldn’t have been as amazing without you! Each day we’ll not only remember what a great day it was, but that we got to celebrate with each of you. – Mr. & Mrs. Brown

Screen Shot 2016-07-24 at 10.33.12 PM
Introducing the new Mr. & Mrs. Brown!

 

1 thought on “The Wedding”

Leave a comment