Uncategorized

My Journey So Far

In my last blog post (2016 In Review), I discussed how 2016 was an interesting year for me and my body image. I gained a little weight just before and after the wedding. I was falling into an unhealthy cycle of eating too much fast food/junk food and not be active enough. I drank juice and sugary lattes instead of water. After dinner, I’d lay on the couch and binge on Netflix. I skipped breakfast in the mornings and overeat at lunch and dinner. The funny thing about gaining weight is that it slowly creeps up on you. Since my weight hadn’t been an issue for me in the past, I let my unhealthy choices spiral out of control. I assumed my body would be unaffected. While my weight gain wasn’t extreme, I began to notice little changes in my body that pointed towards the bigger issue: I needed a lifestyle change. 

My insecurities finally came to a head when I ran into an old co-worker at the grocery store. She was extremely well-meaning and sweet, but she mentioned that she could tell life and marriage was going well for me because “my face looked full”. I was shocked that someone had essentially confirmed an insecurity that had been raging in my head for months. That’s when I decided enough was enough. Even if I didn’t reach my goal weight, I needed to treat my body and mind better than I had been. Thankfully, by being intentional about what I eat & drink and by making sure I’m burning off what I consume during the day, my body has responded positively. 

“Positive in, positive out”

Here’s what a typical day looks like for me now:

– I eat a balanced breakfast: hardboiled egg, piece of fruit/natural fruit bar, oatmeal, coffee with a splash of milk, etc. I try to plan my breakfast the night before so I’m not forced to eat something “easy” that would otherwise be junky.

– I’ve committed to drinking a gallon of water a day. Not only does this help curb my appetite and cravings for sugary snacks, but it helps flush my body of waste, help turn my food into energy, and keep my skin clear. I’m intentional about not drinking soda, non-fruit juice, sweet teas, etc. Typically, the only fluids I have during the day are coffee, hot tea, and water.

– I walk whenever I can instead of taking the elevator and I get up from my work desk every hour to get my heart rate up.

– For lunch and dinner, I make sure to eat a balanced meal that’s not too calorie heavy. I keep snacks like beef jerky or almonds at my desk so I don’t give in to the vending machine snacks that always seem to be calling my name. However, I don’t stop myself from indulging occasionally πŸ™‚

– I’ve created a custom exercise plan that I really enjoy and look forward to each day. This month consists of cardio (I prefer a jog on and off the treadmill), high-intensity strength training, and ab/core exercises. For the nights I don’t feel like going to the gym, I will opt for a 30-minute dance workout (usually Keaira LaShae, who offers FUN workouts for your living room). I try not to eat within 2-3 hours of bedtime, as well as not sitting/laying down right after dinner.

– Not only have I been intentional about what I put in my body and what I work off, but also the state of my mind. I will light candles, make some tea, and sit in my room with soft music playing to de-stress before bed. It’s important that I not forget change begins within the mind!

I’m noticing small changes since the beginning of my journey. My strength is improving. I feel peppier throughout the day. My body is toning back up. I’m thankful I’m making better decisions for my body and mind. But, even as I continue on this journey, I consistently remind myself of some things I’ll take time to remind you of:

“I AM NOT JUST NUMBERS ON A SCALE; MY WORDS AND ACTIONS HAVE WEIGHT TO THEM”

“I AM MORE THAN THE CALORIES I CONSUME FOR I RETAIN KNOWLEDGE, SKILL, EXPERIENCES, AND WISDOM”

“MY BODY IS NOT PERFECT, BUT I CAN RESOLVE TO BE THE BEST WOMAN I CAN BE”

“MY WORTH IS NOT DEFINED BY MY BODY MASS, BUT BY MY KINDNESS AND STRENGTH”

I hope that my post encouraged you today. Remember, one step at a time is all it takes. 

5 thoughts on “My Journey So Far”

  1. Love that you are disciplined and willful in gaining control over something that can easily get out of hand and hard to regain control of. It is very encouraging and gives me incentive to do the same. Thank you for the information as I will follow your lead because all I have to lose is an unhealthy self image and those extra unwanted pounds.πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment